AngliaSaloonEstateVanPick UpTorinoConvertibleKit CarsSpecials
AdvertsArticlesBooksBuyingForgottenHistoryLegalLinksMisc Items
ModelsMoviesMy CarPhotosPoliceRacingSite NewsStoriesTechnical

You are in:

1964 Monte
Carlo Rally

Ford Anglia 105E - 1964 Monte Carlo Rally


The 33rd Monte Carlo Rally of 1964 saw cars starting from the following cities:
Oslo, Warsaw, Minsk, Glasgow, Frankfurt, Paris, Lisbon, Athens and Monte Carlo.

Ford's Works Rally team conisted of Ford Falcons for the 1964 rally, which were driven by pretty much the same drivers that drove the Works Anglia's in the 1960 Monte Carlo Rally. A lot of the other drivers that had used Ford Anglia's in the past were now moving over to the new Ford Cortina's, leaving only two privateers to uphold the Anglia name. The first Ford Anglia was driven by Michael Merrick, who campaigned an Allardette, with a second Ford Anglia being driven by Frank Marchant. Unfortunately both Anglia's failed to finish the Rally.

Of the 299 competitors that started out for Monte Carlo, 273 actually reached the town of Reims, many of which had no or very few penalties. The journey from Reims to the end of the rally though, eliminated just over 100 competitors, leaving 163 to actually reach the finishing line.

The Rally was ultimately won by Paddy Hopkirk / Henry Liddon in a Mini Cooper S (Car No 37)
The Coupe des Dames (Ladies Cup) was won by Pat Moss-Carlsson / Ursula Wirth in a Saab 96 (Car No 56) who finished 5th overall in the Rally.

A write up of the 1964 Monte Carlo Rally by "Sports Illustrated" magazine can be read here.

Ford Anglia Allardette - Car No 239 - Merrick / Friswell

Ford Anglia - Car No 239

Ford Anglia - Car No 239

Ford Anglia - Car No 239

Ford Anglia - Car No 239

Ford Anglia - Car No 239

Results of the Rally (Top 3 Shown)

33rd Monte Carlo Rally
Held on 18th to 21st January 1964

Notes: There were 306 entries, 299 starters, 163 finishers (DNF = Did Not Finsh)

Finish Class Position
in Class
Race No Team / Entrant
Engine Size Starting Point
1 Cat 1
Cl 3
1 37 Paddy Hopkirk / Henry Liddon
Mini Cooper S (Reg No 33 EJB)
1100cc Minsk
2 Cat 1
Cl 8
1 49 Bo Ljungfeldt / Fergus Sager
Ford Falcon Sprint (Reg No ZE 1047)
4700cc V8 Oslo
3 Cat 1
Cl 2
1 131 Erik Carlsson / Gunnar Palm
Saab 96 Sport (Reg No P44301)
- Oslo
arrow - - - arrow - - arrow
DNF - - 167 Frank Marchant / Ian Marchant
Ford Anglia
997cc Paris
DNF - - 239 Micheal Merrick / Friswell
Ford Anglia Allardette (Reg 564 CON)
997cc Glasgow